Me Write Funny One Day

Stick with imports, New York

This array of newpaper boxes arrested my jaunty progress up the Avenue, Fifth Avenue, in New York last week. The promise implicit in a “Humor Writing Class” offered by “Gotham Writers’ Workshop” lured me irresistibly. Would have fallen, too, if I had not been days late for the class. For who does not want to express the good humor of your average New Yorker?

But, as I said, the chance had passed, and the headline on the free catalog was only a cruel taunt by the time this tourist strolled by. Just as well, I suppose. After all, if I were to give a lesson in “humor writing” it would consist only of the advice to be born in late 19th century like James Thurber, Damon Runyon, Ring Lardner and O. Henry.

But who knows? Maybe I could have picked up a few pointers on how to make this blog post funny.

Leave a Reply

